The “E” Word

Exercise.  There’s a word I abhor.

When I think of that word, I’m instantly transported back to the most heinous of my life’s experiences…junior high and high school gym class.

I have vivid memories of bright red, one piece gym suits.  The elasticized waist and balloony butt did nothing to enhance my already chubby figure.  My self-esteem took other major hits when I was always the last one picked for the teams.  Any ball kicked, hit or thrown into my vicinity was sure to be missed; perhaps even ducked from.  It didn’t matter what sport we were about to learn, I knew I couldn’t do more than the mandatory participation accompanied by routine embarrassment.  Hence, the word ‘exercise’ has taken on a life-long connotation of distaste for me.

Don’t get me wrong.  I understand the value of exercise.  I know it’s important for my health.  I love the endorphin buzz and feel much better about myself when I exercise.  I love to take walks along the beach here and bike rides down the pier.  I just hate the word.  When I think of taking a walk to get some exercise, I’ll often sit my butt back down in a chair.

Knowing that I’m not alone in the damage that my school phys ed experiences left me with, I’d like to propose a movement to change the word ‘exercise’ to something that doesn’t have negative vibes for so much of the population; something that most of us find pleasant.

I’d thought of sex, but there are some amongst us who would prefer not to have to experience that again and have also had some bad experiences in that area.

I’d thought of flowers, but those with allergies might find that word causes them some distress.

After pondering this battle of semantics for awhile, I finally decided on a word that makes most of us smile; a word that brings happiness to young children.  A word that, on its’ own, can make you giggle.

Pudding.

Yes, that’s right.  Pudding.  While I’m sure that there is someone in the world that has had negative pudding experiences, I think the majority of us will agree that most of our pudding memories are happy ones.

That being said, I’m going to go for a walk on the beach now and get some pudding.

4 responses to “The “E” Word

  1. Hilarious! Make sure to have pudding 3-4 times a week!

  2. Making up for the hiatus!

Leave a Reply

